Indian Centre for Space Physics
43, Chalantika, Garia Station Road, Kolkata, India. 700 084.


Indian Centre for Space Physics is a premiere Research Institute dedicated to carry out research in various challenging branches of Astronomy, Astrophysics and Space Science. It is a Govt. aided institution, but majority of the research fund comes from projects from National and International funding agencies. Major projects are from ISRO and DST. CSIR (NET) scholars can also directly carry out Ph.D. programme here. It is an autonomous body, recognized by the Calcutta University. Presently, students working towards Ph.D. are taken. However, MSc students do carry out projects also.

Our Presidents
Prof. Chanchal Kumar Majumdar (1999-2000)
Prof. S. P. Sengupta (2000-2006)
Prof. U. R. Rao (2006-2007)
Prof. B. B. Bhattacharyya (2007- )

Our Vice-Presidents
Prof. J. N. Chakravorty (1999-2011)

Our Secretaries
Prof. Sandip K. Chakrabarti (1999- Nov, 2018)

Dr. Sonali Chakrabarti (Nov, 2018 - till date)